Children's Chorus

The Children's Chorus is open to singers ages 7-13, who have little or no former choral experience through placement audition. Singers will learn the fundamentals of healthy vocal production, and aural, notation-reading, and ensemble skills. Through developmentally appropriate vocal activities and repertoire, singers learn music in unison and two-parts, in a variety of styles and languages. Students perform in two concerts per year, in the fall and spring. All choristers must have text-reading ability.
 
Dr. Sarah Houghton holds an MA from New York University, a DMA in Music Education from Boston University, and has most recently worked as Director of Children's Choruses at the prestigious New England Conservatory, in Boston. She is looking forward to building a vibrant choral program at the Gifted Music School.
 
 
 

Call 801.300.1199 now or email us to learn more.

 

Course Details
   
Instructor(s) Dr. Sarah Houghton
Meets Thursdays at 4:45pm
Duration 60 minutes
Length 15 weeks
Starts January 27, 2022
Ends May 19, 2022
Age Range 7 to 13
Music Fee $15/semester
Location On Campus (In-Person)
   

 

 

Tuition for GMS Lesson Students
Tuition for All Others
   
$100/semester $180/semester
   

 

 

Spring 2022 (15 sessions)
   
Thu, Jan 27, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, Feb 3, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, Feb 10, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, Feb 17, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, Mar 3, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, Mar 10, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, Mar 17, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, Mar 24, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, Apr 7, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, Apr 14, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, Apr 21, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, Apr 28, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, May 5, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, May 12, 2022 4:45 PM
Thu, May 19, 2022 4:45 PM
   

 

 

Attend the first class risk-free!

 

 

Placement Audition

There is an initial audition for all choirs at the beginning of the year used to determine the best placement. Come prepared with a short song (of your choice) that you feel comfortable singing. If you are unsure whether your child should be placed in the Children's Chorus, Preparatory Chorus, or private voice lessons, Dr. Houghton will be able to provide individualized feedback and recommendations at the placement audition. More information on the placement audition is forthcoming.
 
 
 

Call 801.300.1199 now or email us to learn more.